James Beard Foundation Announces The 2014 Leadership Award Recipients | CookingDistrict.com

James Beard Foundation Announces The 2014 Leadership Award Recipients

The James Beard Foundation has announced the 2014 recipients of the James Beard Foundation Leadership Awards, which recognize visionaries in the world of food politics and sustainable agriculture. All five will be honored during the foundation’s annual Food Conference on October 27.

Mark Bittman
Author/Journalist, The New York Times
For using his international platform as a respected journalist and author to educate consumers about healthier food choices and to advocate for a better food system.

Ben Burkett
State Coordinator for the State of Mississippi, Federation of Southern Cooperatives; President of The
National Family Farm Coalition; and Member of Via Campensina
For the positive impact this life-long family farmer has made through his support of the American family farm and advocacy for the rights of every individual to wholesome food, clean water, air, and land.

Navina Khanna
Fellow, Movement Strategy Center
For her work as a food justice activist organizing across communities for equitable and ecological food systems on local, regional, and national levels.

Michael Pollan
Writer/Journalist; and Professor, University of California, Berkeley
For the influence his books, articles and public appearances have had on the national conversation about important issues, such as sustainable agriculture, nutrition, food safety, farm policy, public health, and animal welfare.

Karen Washington
Urban Farmer, Community Activist and Former President, New York City Community Garden Coalition
For the impact her leadership has had on the revitalization of neighborhoods in the Bronx through the establishment of urban gardens, as well as her national appearances to promote green jobs, healthy diets, and community gardens.


No documents found

Sign In to post a comment.